A Homemade Holiday

8 Dec

Face it…the economy has us all looking for ways to scale back, especially at this most consumerist time of the year. don’t get me wrong: Christmas is my favorite holiday. But not because of the gifts under the tree. I’m a fan of the Baby Jesus, and the history and nostalgia my family puts behind the Christmas traditions. With two teen girls, there are Christmas cookies and countless crafts that make the season full of almost Victorian splendor.

In November I tweeted a paper star craft that I pinned on Pinterest  said I wanted to try. leave it to my good neighbor to call me up and say “Remember that craft you wanted to do? Come over for coffee and let’s DO it!!”

So, we three Girls of clan McShane headed over, paper cutters and glue dots in hand to the neighbor’s house to make paper stars. It was actually a very easy project, and even my special needs daughter could be proud of the stars she made. For directions CLICK HERE. As you can see, we didn’t even use holiday paper or even holiday colors. We used square scrapbooking paper, which was the perfect size and weight, and already perfectly square!

assorted colorful paper

But I really fell in love with the idea of a country mish-mash of fun vintage paper stars and chains. We went a little crazy. But, that’s just my style. Went to Michael’s and bought vintage Christmas scrapbook paper and went to town!! Paper chains are such a fun and easy craft for kids of all ages!

Paper Chains...

In the  end, we hung the stars from different colored ribbons all over our home, and hung the chains in doorways. Very festive and fun! Here is a photo of a grouping of stars over a couch with up-lighting:

Is this a craft you might try?

16 Responses to “A Homemade Holiday”

  1. hideaheart December 8, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Beautiful!!! I love these!

  2. spinningcook December 8, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    My girls would love this – great project and we will definitely give it a try. We usually make cut snowflakes for the front window, but this year we might hang snowflake-stars instead. -Ryan

    • thyroidinfo December 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      AFter the first one, they go fast!!

  3. Sarie December 8, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    I did two at work during some downtime and decorated my office. shh, don’t tell 😉

    • thyroidinfo December 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      LOL! Great way to recycle paper!!

  4. queeniecarly December 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    The stars are adorable and I really, really, really love the paper chains! I haven’t done that since I was a kid! 😀

    • thyroidinfo December 15, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thank you Carly!! Checking out your blog now!!

  5. sandysview December 13, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Hey those are properly cool stars & stuff. When I was little and we wanted the glam up the place, we went along to the nearest dairy factory to get the off cuts of aluminium foil that they cut the milk bottle tops out of. Hang it round the ceiling, hey presto instant disco!

    • thyroidinfo December 15, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks so much, Sandy!! your disco sounds AMAZING, and what a great way to use leftover paper….we call that “Upcycling” on this side of the pond!

    • thyroidinfo December 29, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      Love it!

  6. Tania December 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Love this! I have a whole bunch of German stars that someone made me for me. I’m taking everything Christmas down after New Years, it is always a bit sad to take down the holiday decor.

    • thyroidinfo December 29, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      Yes…always bitter sweet, isn’t it?

  7. Jay January 8, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    That is an awesome idea.cry cool my kids would love it.next time they come for a visit we will try it.I’ll post the pics of the results.

    • thyroidinfo January 8, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      That would be GREAT!

  8. Conleth (@iConleth) March 9, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Knock knock B

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Priceless Cup of Coffee is a Merry Gift of Christmas « HideaHeart's Blog - December 24, 2011

    […] Earlier in the summer, I reconnected with one of the Leyden Singers, Beth McShane. […]

Leave a Reply

