A Trunk Story: Kittehs!

12 Oct

So, I have two cats, a dog, and a husband who is less than enthusiastic about pets. The biggest issue seems to revolve around, of all things, the litter box. Our two cats love splashing around in their litter box, and my dog loves searching for buried treasure in there, so it has become a necessity to find away to cover the litter box. I was inspired by the Ikea Hacks website, but didn’t want to spend $60 on a brand new bench, only to cut a hole in it. so I went on Criagslist and found this little number for $20.

20111012-110739.jpg

 

 

 

I used my handy dandy Dremmel tool to cut a hole in the side of a used toy box…. carefully sanding the edges to keep the cats safe:

20111012-110813.jpg

Winston and Ralphie approve!! Note: There is only 14″ of headroom in this toybox, and I was afraid it would be too small for them to use, but the proof is in the tootsie rolls! (No, I would NOT post THAT photo 😉 They have been using it with no incident for 2 days now. Hubs is happy, Mommy’s happy and the novelty of it hasn’t worn off on the girls, who clean the letter every morning.
20111012-110825.jpg

Note…I lined the bottom with removable adhesive shelf paper to allow for easy cleaning, and I also threw in a folded over piece of non-slip shelf liner to act as an attractant to encourage more kitty litter to stay in the box…..so far the amount of litter on the floor is decreased by 99% (nothing is perfect, right?)  I also love how there is room to spare to hold the litter scoop…..which used to just sit on the side of the box and add to the  unsightly mess.

20111012-110839.jpgAll in all, it took $20 and about 20 minutes to do this project……win/win in my book!! Cheers!

9 Responses to “A Trunk Story: Kittehs!”

  1. BongoDogOwner October 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    This looks like a great idea. At my house I would like it for keeping the litter in, but somehow I think my dog Bongo would still find a way to get stuff out.

  2. Moxie Reviews™ (@Moxiereviews) October 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    That is so smart of you. I can’t believe you bought that for $20. Beautiful and it works!! Love your blog. I am now subscribed so I’ll know when you post next–plus I’m following on Twitter, so remind me if I get behind on my reading! x

    • thyroidinfo October 18, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks so much!! see you in the Twitterverse!!

    • Krista November 12, 2011 at 3:15 am #

      I agree – SO SMART!

  3. Kendall November 13, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    You are so smart AND handy! But, what is it with dogs and their fascination with that cat poop!? Tux likes it, too….blech.

    • thyroidinfo December 8, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      Kendal….I really don’t get the dogs fascination with cat scat…..totally turns my stomach…..this solved the problem 🙂

  4. Roxanne December 8, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I love this idea! Yes I am an cat lady sometimes too!

    • thyroidinfo December 8, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      Most Cat people are closet cat lady wannabees, aren’t we?

  5. Tom Pinit January 11, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Hmmmm, wonder if that’d work for our geriatric cat? See, she doesn’t like to actually fully stand in the box anymore, so sometimes we’ll just end up with a lake of pee on the floor. This would “encourage” her to stand in the box. Or, we’ll just get a bunch of pee on the outside anyhow.

Leave a Reply

