I Might Un-follow You If….

16 Aug

Today I started a fun little game on Twitter, called “I might un-follow you if….” It’s a take on the old “You might be a redneck if….”

Loved how enthusiastic everyone was….love it when Twitter is a chatroom 🙂 The #ImightUnfollowYouif hashtag resulted in the following

I might Un-follow you:

  • If Your avatar “blinks” at me.
  • If you have no picture no profile no tweets.
  • If  your Avatar is you in a bikini doing downward dog.
  • If your profile picture is an egg.
  • If you tweet in a different language with strange characters.
  • If you are a dog or a cat or a horses “back-end”
  • If you keep telling me what U ate 4 no good reason.
  • If you never post original thoughts or interact with your network.
  • If you only talk to celebrities, yet you are not one….
  • If you only tweet about your 24 cats and living with your mom.
  • If I see that all of your linked articles from social media “experts” come from Mashable.
  • If your only check-ins on @foursquare are to strip clubs and pet stores.
  • If your tweets are 90% URLs…
  • If you immediately want to tell me how to win a free iPad.
  • If you DM me about how much weight you just lost.

Special Thanks to @507jeans, @ellemenopee @submittedmelody @bgrmosaic @TheMichaelDJ @itsLizawithaZ @sarahmsalter @leaderswest for collaborating/playing along!

 

Which is your favorite? Did we miss something? Post it in comments below!

17 Responses to “I Might Un-follow You If….”

  1. tastyvocals August 16, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    What are yo doing following these people in the first place? 🙂

    • thyroidinfo August 16, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      I have my account set to automatically follow ppl who follow, but I’m revising that this week 😛

    • Fancier2 September 5, 2011 at 4:02 am #

      These people? And who might they be? “I Might Un-follow You If you haven’t Tweeted in over a month. What’s the point if no one is there?

  2. tastyvocals August 16, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I meant “you.”

  3. mr e August 23, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    #IMightUnfollowYouIf – you post things that are profane but not witty, if your tweets are mean spirited, if you cannot be bothered to write in anything other than text jargon

    (and #IWillUnfollowYouIf you ever post hate speech)

    • thyroidinfo August 23, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Agreed! #ImightUnfollowYouIf you bore me or if you hate….period.

  4. Abel Pardo Fernández (@wsiabelpardo) September 9, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    This is one of the best post I’ve ever seen. There is not so much to add, simply #unfollow for all that people that never answer when you ask, never respond when you say hello, or never say you’re welcome when you say “thanks”.

    Congs for the post!

    • thyroidinfo September 12, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Wow, Abel! Thanks for the high praise!

  5. Tim Mauch (@teemuch) September 12, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Now I have to re-evaluate my list

    • thyroidinfo September 13, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Ha! Let me know how that works out for you 😛

  6. okiewife September 20, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    #1 reason I unfollow is use of profanity.

  7. mikeantares December 5, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    If you have 3,000 tweets, but it’s because every two hours, your bot broadcasts of 5 self-promoting marketing tweets about your book. And you don’t say anything else interesting or respond to mentions / DMs. r*o*b*o*t*m*a*r*k*e*t*i*n*g

    • thyroidinfo December 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      LOL Mike When I first read this, I thought you were talking about ME!! I was offended….then I realized you were adding to my list of “I might Unfollow You…” LOL! Great laugh to start out my day!! 😛

  8. danieldschell January 1, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Favorite line is “love it when Twitter is a chat room”. Never thought of it that way, but it’s so true.

    • thyroidinfo January 1, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      It really isn, isn’t it? Hashtags help narrow the field, but I’ve met some of the BEST people on Twitter….

  9. John (@joltdude) January 3, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    How about an all natural cure for a disease “like diabetes”… I get a ton of those tweets..

    • thyroidinfo January 3, 2012 at 3:33 am #

      I’ve seen a surge in diets with the advent of the new year!!

Leave a Reply

