Facebook for Embryos

2 Aug

 

Facebook announced this week that it was adding a feature to soon-to-be moms to add an unborn baby, with a due date to their family tree. Facebook for the not-yet-born.

This opens up such a can of worms for me. First of all, it is NOT an option for the father, only the expectant mother…what is UP with THAT?

But more importantly, I fear that the overly excited mom-to-be could be setting herself up for disappointment should anything go wrong in the pregnancy. What it, God forbid, a miscarriage occurs, or a child with severe medical problems is born?

I remember vividly the day I was told my baby was born with multiple midline birth defects. The minute I brought her home, I rushed to my “What to Expect When Expecting” book and looked in the back for the reference page for birth defects. It led me to one paragraph…telling me to seek help from a family therapist….not exactly what I was hoping to read :O

So, I put myself in those shoes again and imagine if I had announced to 3,000 of my closest friends on FB that I was expecting, only to have to delete the listing (sending a FB update announcement to all of my friends) if something were to go wrong?

I’ve seen ultrasound snapshots as profile pics, and I think that is great. But seriously….let’s not count our eggs before they’ve hatched…not meant as a pro-life/choice debate, but seriously!

I have had friends tell me in confidence that they had deleted certain friends because they talked incessantly about their infants ad naseum…this takes it to a whole new level.

What’s next? When a woman’s cycle is she going to be able to update her status to “might be expecting” with a drop down list of possible fathers to tag?

8 Responses to “Facebook for Embryos”

  1. venturesome krysia August 3, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I agree. Most of my current friends are childless my choice (I have 2 kids). They sometimes ask about my kids, but I don’t go on and on about them when not asked. I do post pictures of us doing fun things together on Facebook, but feel that is more benign because they don’t have to look through them if they are not interested.

    I would not have posted a “coming soon family-tree update” status change because I am somewhat superstitious and would have thought it would be bad luck.

    • thyroidinfo August 8, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      Agreed 🙂

  2. Nancy P August 7, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    “might be expecting” LOL or “if I get lucky tonight I might be expecting tomorrow” I agree this seems a bit much.

    • thyroidinfo August 8, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      LOL! An “I’m feeling lucky tonite” with links to the potential father 😛 On ovulating status…. j

  3. Phil Harrison August 8, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    At the other end of the spectrum are the ghosts of users who have passed away. I see a future career as a reincarnationist – helping people discover their past lives through persistent face book pages that might have been theirs.

    • thyroidinfo August 8, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      I already know of several memorial FB sites that were set up by people now deceased….. LOL! What a great/funny/twisted idea! 😛

  4. Pavarti K Tyler September 7, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Oh lord. We’re going to have an influx of those horrifying “angel babies” on facebook now too. Uggh. I have 2 kids. I’ve lost 4. I have one on the autism spectrum. And you know what? Those kids have the right to privacy and the ones I’ve lost, well I have the right to privacy about those too should I want it. Announcing early can be a mistake, announcing on facebook could be a disaster.

    • thyroidinfo September 8, 2011 at 1:09 am #

      I agree Pavarti….. sometime young mothers let their exhuberence get the best of them, though.

Leave a Reply

