Social Media for the Dogs…..

26 May

Just a typical Sunday morning: wake up and check all my social media streams first thing. I’ve got my daughters trained to brew me a cup of coffee whilst I twitter away…..This Sunday it was a Facebook post from a friend that caught my attention: Anyone interested in a 4 year old female Labradoodle who’s fully trained?

Now my beloved dog Jetsie passed away last October, and I had sworn that I’d give the family a year to heal before we attempted to replace her. But rescue  labradoodles are not everyday occurrences, so my interest was peaked. The next step was running it by the hubs. We were on a walk of the Nike Campus and I picked my moment:

“You know, Bev just posted that there is a female labradoodle looking for a home, and if ever there was a breed I’d want to get for our family……”

I brace myself for the lecture about how our son is going to be travelling in the PAC-10 next year, and we should wait until the summer of of 2012….. but wait…What he actually says is:

“If you think it’s a good idea, and if you and the girls will take responsibilty for it, let’s go look.”

You could’ve knocked me over with a feather. Word to the wise: just when you think you know what your husband will think/do he will do a complete 180 on you and happily surprise you!!

So, long story short, we’ve adopted Sadie, and we’re happy to have her in the family. She is the best dog ever, and I have Facebook to thank!!

One Response to “Social Media for the Dogs…..”

  1. Bev Blume May 28, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    Beth. I am so glad your doodle adoption story is now a blog post! I hope you all have a long life of happiness together. I know we love ours more than anything. He’s the best dog ever!
    Now we are twinsies!! I’m so happy she has a great home, and I’m so happy she is loved. Otherwise I’d be finding a way for her to live with me.. lol.

Leave a Reply

