On second Thought

22 Mar

The more I think about it, the more I’m thinking that my daughter should NOT take the Wechsler test per the school’s recommendations…. I fear that the test giver may be biased based on their desire to see her end up in an Alternative Learning Center setting versus mainstreaming her into the classroom.

I’ve been doing a fair amount of research, and I walk away buoyed by the knowledge that I NEVER have to sign off on an educational plan….it is up to the school to give my daughter the tools she needs to succeed in a regular classroom setting. This is a comforting thought, because I truly believe that she deserves a chance to perform, albeit below average, in a classroom with her peers….I would rather see her claw to the top of the bottom 5th percentile than give up altogether and have her be a ROCKSTAR in a full time special needs classroom.

I’m giving serious thought to hiring someone to administer the test privately, just to see if the outcome is different…..

Leave a Reply

