Secret confessions of a carb whore……

2 Jun

I am a squeezer. I squeeze the Charmin, I squeeze the avocados, and I squeeze the puglieses…

Yesterday I arrived at my local Fred Meyer Bakery around 1pm and I started my ritualistic squeezing of the artisan breads. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine to pick up a round, warm loaf of freshly baked bread. When it gives off a scent off a warm sweet aroma, I faint a little on the inside and want to hug it a little closer. And, when I sense that just beyond it’s crisp crust lies a soft and doughy center I can’t wait to get it home and tear off its wrapper and have my way with my loaf…..yes I’m a carb whore like that.

So, it’s after 1pm and I find myself drawn to the corner of artfully lit baskets full of artisan breads. No warm loaves…only cold hard ones. Then I start my ritual squeezing.

To my surprise, some of the loaves were beyond soft….they were soggy….but only in spots…I try to get the attention of the lady behind the bakery counter and bring it to her attention, and they just ignored me. Finally I found a loaf of artisan Italian I thought I could live with. But, by the time I got to the front of the store, it was also soggy on the bottom and I was in no mood to mince words. I told the man managing the front of store self-checkout.

Long story short: I believe they are spraying down their artisan breads in order to be able to sell them as fresh. I’ve seen this practice done in other stores, but I was shocked that it was happening here. Fred Meyer would roll over in his grave.

The man at the check-out, whom I’ve seen around this FM for years appeared to be attentive to my concern, and tried to call the in store manager over to talk to me. But, he was evidently unavailable, and I didn’t have time to wait for some guy to come over and tell me that I must be mistaken, when I know that I’m not. I will steer clear of their bakery from now on.

Shame on you, Fred Meyer conglomerate Kroger owned corporate communists!

One Response to “Secret confessions of a carb whore……”

  1. louis vuitton June 9, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Hi, I love your article. This is a nice site and I wanted to post a note to let you know, great job! Thanks Katy

Leave a Reply

