i carry your heart with me….

21 Jun

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it's you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that's keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)
                                  e.e. cummings

That has been my favorite poem for as long as I can remember. This Father’s Day I found the perfect way to incorporate it into a beautiful and thoughtful gift, thanks to Hide a Heart and MCatherine Lunsford-Bowles.

Think about it: who has time to write flowery love notes these days?( I’m personally lucky if I get a pg-rated sext off to my husband once a day!!) Back in the day, Hubs and I were good about leaving love notes for each other regularly, but 15 years and three kids later, it gets a little more tricky…enter Hide a Heart.

MCatherine Lunsford-Bowles is a successful recording artist and soloist turned entrepreneur. Decades ago, she and her husband came up with the idea of hiding a glass heart from each other as  non-verbal show of affection. Each would take turns hiding their special glass heart from each other. Once found, it was up to the finder to then re-hide the treasure, and the cycle of love has continued for decades for MCatherine and her husband.

Imagine: a way of expression that is not only non-verbal, but also re-usable and recylable? I was so excited when I saw it last weekend, that I snatched one up on the s pot and presented it to my husband on Father’s Day. He absolutely loved it, and he hid it for me immediately! The girls were so excited about the Hide a Heart concept, that I plan to get several for stocking stuffers next Christmas…such a perfect gift for so many occasions.

With so many weddings coming up this summer, I tire purchasing things off a gift registry…I understand the practicality of getting something the couple wants, but it takes all the spontaneity out of it when I am given a list of things I’m suggested to buy. I would MUCH rather send a check with a hide a heart!

And it’s not just for weddings…My friend who is moving away next month? I’ll be sending her off with a Hide a Heart. They would be a great way to incorporate future step children into a wedding ceremony…why not give your future bonus child your heart? She makes lovely purple healing hearts for people battling cancer and other long-term illnesses. Hide a Heart’s are available on her Etsy site, as well as in better boutiques in Oregon. MCatherine also has a fun blog.

You really can’t go wrong with Hide a Heart….enjoy!!

3 Responses to “i carry your heart with me….”

  1. MCatherine June 21, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m so delighted Hide A Heart Little Love Notes are in play! C’mon by and leave a comment on http://hideaheartinspiresexpression.blogspot.com. I’m off to Tweet! Tweet! Tweet!
    MCatherine

  2. This is a wonderful example of how to “Hide a Heart” with such tenderness and love. Love MCatherine and Hide A Heart and can only imagine how thrilled you’re dad was to receive this! Perfection! Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hide A Heart Little Love Notes are in play! « HideaHeart's Blog - June 21, 2011

    [...] Beth gave the Claddagh heart to her husband for Father’s Day then blogged about how the Little Love Note at their house is in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

